Pop Culture.

Pop Culture. We’re surrounded by it everyday. From reality television shows like Keeping Up with The Kardashian’s to Top 40 hits like Drake’s ‘Hotline Bling’ it’s hard to escape it. That being said, it’s hard to say who has the authority to say what’s right, wrong, or in between. For example, I really really really (really!) dislike Nicki Minaj & her music. But she has a huge fan base so even though I may not like her or her quote unquote music she could be someone that a young fan looks up too whose music gets them through hard times. To put it simply, I believe it’s all subjective. For example, I happen to love Kanye West & his music always gets me pumped but I know so many people who don’t like him or his music. There’s no right or wrong answer. As for what would be considered worthy enough to be studied, I think that just about everything is worthy enough. I think it gives you a glimpse of a person’s personalities & their likes and dislikes. People relate to different medias for many different reasons. That’s why I think it’s all subjective and no one person can say that one is more right or worthy over another.

Radiohead!

radiohead

Now, I’m a music lover of all kinds even though I generally tend to favor hip-hop & country. That being said, I know who the band Radiohead is but asked to name one of their songs I could only name one. That would be ‘Creep’ released in 1993 off the Pablo Honey album and I’m not ashamed to say that I only know that because that is one of my dad’s favorite songs. But that’s the extent of my Radiohead knowledge. Listening to the song ‘Burn The Witch’ & then watching the video I’m conflicted. The song isn’t my cup of tea but watching the video was cool. According to reviews of the video it’s the band’s retelling of The Wicker Man (which I’m also not familiar with) but I was more reminded of the cartoon Gumby. Whilst I don’t understand the song or video it’s a very cool & creative way to express their craft. According to their YouTube channel the video has been viewed over 16 million times with over 66,000 thumbs up and only about 9,000 dislikes. Not that it has any bearing but it shows that people took the time to watch the video, etc. Overall, it’s not my first choice but I wouldn’t turn it off if it came on. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Pop Culture.

  1. Lauren, I like what you said about how there is really no way to determine who has the authority over what is popular culture or not. It really depends, on who you are and what your likes and interests are! Personally, don’t like Nicki’s music but I don’t really like Kanye’s either. They’re just not my style! And in regards to Radiohead’s video, it is just one of those things that you don’t necessarily prefer but you wouldn’t turn it off either.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely agree! Everywhere we go we are literally bombarded with popular culture from the television to the radios. It is incredible to me as to what how these certain television series such as keeping up with the Kardashians’ to overwhelmingly popular. It is funny because my mothers maiden name is Manasian, and the “ian” at the end of the last names is Armenian. It was not until I was a teenager when anyone even knew that Armenia was even a country. This was due to the rising popularity of the Kardashians’!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I had almost the same thoughts regarding the Radiohead video. The song wasn’t really for me but the video was really interesting. The thought of Gumby was in my mind too when watching the video for the first time. Its funny because I had basically completely forgotten about Gumby but seeing the video brought back the memories of watching that show as a child.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

