Impactful Media.

Hello, I’m Lauren. I’m a transfer junior student originally from the San Luis Obispo area. I’ve been living here for almost a year & loving it! My favorite media has always been books, music, movies, & only a limited amount of television. Ever since I was a kid I’ve always loved reading. I would go to the library every week & check out the max amount of books, which if I remember correctly was 10. To this day, I still love reading but I just don’t have a lot of free time to do it. 😦

Books

Archie

Veronica, Archie & Betty.

 

Archie

The latest redesign of Archie.

While I did love reading books I also really enjoyed reading the comic book about the life of Archie Andrews & Co. I don’t remember why I started reading them but I was in elementary school when I did & since then I was hooked. I always related more to Betty Cooper who is 1/3 of the love triangle. She was the nice girl next door who had a crush on Archie but always seemed to lose him to her best friend Veronica. Archie can’t decide between the two while his best friend Jughead persuades him to ditch girls. It’s a classic. I used to be an avid subscriber. To this day, I’ll buy an occasional one & read them for fun.

SVU

Television

Now I don’t watch a lot of television but I do have my weekly schedule of shows that I watch. Law & Order: SVU is one of them. I’ve been watching this show since its inception which was back in 1999. I haven’t missed an episode since then. The show just concluded their 18th season & are coming back for a 19th season. I personally hope it makes it to 20 seasons because that’s how long the original Law & Order ran for. I don’t know why I liked this show so much because it deals with some very heavy subject matter but I always related to Olivia Benson played by Mariska Hargitay. She started off the show as a rookie female detective & rose through the ranks to Lieutenant of the unit while gaining the respect of her peers and squad. And Ice-T is terrific in his role.

Nancy Drew

Books

My absolute favorite books that I loved & would re-read all the time was the Nancy Drew series. It was about a young girl detective Nancy with her attorney father & housekeeper Hannah who was an amateur sleuth that would solve crimes occasionally with best friends Bess & George and boyfriend Ned. As a kid I would love reading the Nancy books & pretend I was a sleuth as cool as Nancy. 😉 I would always get a set for Christmas. My sister enjoys the computer games but I still love the books.

The Beatle

Music

And that leads me to music. Now I listen to all kinds of music but I find that I favor hip-hop/rap more. But when asked who I listen to the most that would be The Beatles. My grandfather & I used to listen to them together when I would stay with him as a kid. It’s hard to pick a favorite song but if I had to choose it would be the song “Let It Be.” That song has helped me when making life choices that I even have the lyric tattooed on the inside of my wrist.

Describe: I love this song so much that I got it tattooed on me! Written & sung by Paul McCartney & accompanied by the piano its basic message was to let things go & take life as it comes. Let it be. The simple message sung by Sir Paul’s confident vocals was something that I could really relate too. When I’m stressed out about school or what the future holds I listen to this song and it helps me to take a deep breath & chill out. It’s just a fantastic song.

Interpret: I still think this is one of the band’s underrated songs. It came to Sir Paul in a dream and there is just something in the songwriting. As an avid reader and an occasional writer I find that well written lyrics are the backbone of a good song. They can either inspire you as in this song or tell a story such as in a rap or country song. The song captured this & it sounded so meaningful against the piano. “Speaking words of wisdom, let it be.”

Humans naturally tend to stress out & even fear the unknown. But stressing out about things out of our control doesn’t change anything. Things will happen the way they’re meant to happen. You’ll find out what happens when its time to know. “When all the broken-hearted people living in the world agree, there will be an answer, let it be.” It’s an inspiring message when you’re a busy student and worrying about if you’re going to pass  a class. I think everyone would be much happier if they put the brakes on for a minute & just take a moment to breathe & be in the moment.

Leave a Reply

